MANDATORY :: Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures (1979) Full Album

Joy Division Unknown Pleasures Barrel dem

In 1979, Joy Division changed the musical landscape with their debut album - Unknown Pleasures on Factory Records. The music was dark and gloomy, which resonates with their audience even to this day. Originally named Warsaw, the band primarily consisted of Ian Curtis (vocals and occasional guitar), Bernard Sumner (guitar and keyboards), Peter Hook (bass guitar and backing vocals) and Stephen Morris (drums and percussion). They worked with Martin Hannett to produce Unknown Pleasures.

The band initially disliked the "spacious, atmospheric sound" of the album, which did not reflect their more aggressive live sound. Hook said in 2006, "It definitely didn't turn out sounding the way I wanted it ... But now I can see that Martin did a good job on it ... There's no two ways about it, Martin Hannett created the Joy Division sound." Hook also noted that he was able to hear Curtis's lyrics and Sumner's guitar parts for the first time on the record, because during gigs the band played too loudly.

The album's cover, which I used to think was a picture of a mountain range or some sort of "Joy Division" is actually a reverse print image of radio waves from pulsar CP 1919, from The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Astronomy. It may be one of the most iconic images in rock history.

In 1980, a troubled Ian Curtis would take his own life in his home in Manchester. The remaining members went on to form New Order, achieving critical success.

00:00 - Disorder
03:28 - Day of the Lords
08:15 - Candidate
11:17 - Insight
15:44 - New Dawn Fades
20:32 - She's Lost Control
24:30 - Shadowplay
28:23 - Wilderness
30:59 - Interzone
33:13 - I Remember Nothing

No Boats

No comments:

Post a Comment